Memorial Awards

IAMCR awards in memory of Herbert I. Schiller, Dallas W. Smythe, Stuart Hall and Annabelle Sreberny are granted each year to graduate students and early-career scholars for work that reflects the critical traditions embodied by these four scholars. 

IAMCR Prize in Memory of Annabelle Sreberny

Annabelle Sreberny significantly and tirelessly enhanced media studies scholarship, both in research and teaching, over a forty-year period. During this time her leadership in our field was also manifested through her long service in IAMCR, including as a member of the International Council, on the Publications Committee, one of the promoters of the Gender and Communication Section, Vice-President and, finally, as President from 2008 to 2012. 

She was committed to global, feminist, justice-oriented critical media research and teaching, and was recognised worldwide as a leading figure in the field, as well as a model of socially engaged scholarship. Of particular note is the attention she gave to global media research, to feminist research and the analysis of social movements, and to the study of media in Iran.

The award in memory of Annabelle Sreberny is made in due recognition of her scientific contribution to the field of media and communication, of her role in advancing a global community of communication scholars and researchers from diverse regions (particularly younger researchers), and to her commitment to IAMCR as a core space that has welcomed and nurtured this community for decades. 

IAMCR Prize in Memory of Dallas W. Smythe

Professor Dallas Smythe was a founder of the field of political economy of communication and a leading scholar and influence in national and international communication policy. Trained as an economist, Smythe's professional career included appointments at the Department of Labor and the Federal Communication Commission in the United States, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and the University of Regina. He was Professor of Communication at Simon Fraser University, Canada from 1976 till his death in 1992.

Dallas Smythe was an active member of IAMCR. He established the Communication Satellites Section which later became known as the Communication Policy & Technology Section and he was an active participant in the Political Economy Section.

Read Bill Melody's 1992 article "Dallas Smythe: A Lifetime at the Frontier of Communications" and see a video produced by Simon Fraser University in which Smythe talks about his work, including (at 7:30) about his involvement with IAMCR.

IAMCR Prize in Memory of Herbert I. Schiller

The Herbert Schiller prize was established at IAMCR's Singapore Conference to celebrate Herbert's lasting contribution to communications scholarship and to remember his work in helping to establish IAMCR as a open, hospitable and vital space of debate, as one of the founders of the Political Economy Section and as Vice President of the Association.

Herbert embodied the very best traditions of intellectual life, as a scholar, as an influential writer, as an engaged critic and public orator, and above all, as an inspirational teacher who encouraged younger scholars to develop work that challenges accepted orthodoxies and centers of power and opens up new questions for analysis and debate.

IAMCR Prize in Memory of Stuart Hall

Stuart Hall was born in Kingston, Jamaica in 1932 and attended Jamaica College. He won a Rhodes Scholarship and left Jamaica in 1951 to study in Merton College at Oxford University in England. His experiences and analyses of race, popular culture and anti-colonial struggles fashioned his early scholarship, leading to an exceptional and distinguished career. He is widely regarded as the founder of the modern discipline of 'Cultural Studies' and throughout his career he developed an impressive body of work on issues of cultural hegemony, identity and communication.

Hall's theoretical constructs, including original and influential ideas on encoding and decoding in communication discourses, multiculturalism and ethnicity in sociology, and his re-conceptualization of reception theory, among others, earned him wide respect and admiration by several generations of academics and communication scholars around the world.

The Stuart Hall Prize was established at IAMCR's Hyderabad Conference during a tribute to celebrate his lasting contribution to communications scholarship and to remember his work. See the videos of the tribute.

Annabelle Sreberny Memorial Award

In the spirit of honoring the legacy of Annabelle Sreberny, a distinguished scholar and former president of IAMCR, we are pleased to announce the creation of a Memorial Award in her name. This award joins the three existing Memorial Awards and will be granted for the first time to outstanding papers accepted for presentation at the 2024 conference.

2023 Smythe Award winners

IAMCR is pleased to announce that the 2023 Prize in Memory of Dallas W. Smythe will be awarded to Tianyang Fu (University of Chicago, US), Christopher Petersen (Lakehead University Orillia, Canada) and Guo Xiaoxin (School of Culture and Media, Central University of Finance and Economics, China).

2022 Schiller Award Winner

IAMCR is pleased to announce that the 2022 award in memory of Herbert I. Schiller will be awarded to Siyuan Yin (Simon Fraser University) for her paper titled: "Situating Platform Gig Economy in the Formal Subsumption of Reproductive Labor: Transnational Migrant Domestic Workers and the Continuum of Exploitation and Precarity".

2021 Stuart Hall Prize Winner

IAMCR is pleased to announce that the 2021 Prize in memory of Stuart Hall will be awarded to Hanna E. Morris for her paper Constructing ‘Rights’ and ‘Wrongs’ in Climate Media Discourse Through the Prism of American Exceptionalism. An honourable mention was also granted to Dr Wunpini Fatimata Mohammed.

2017 Smythe award winners

IAMCR is pleased to announce that the award committee for the 2017 prize in memory of Dallas Smythe has declared a tie, with the prize to be shared jointly by two authors: Hannah Spyksma (PhD Candidate, Queensland University of Technology (QUT), Australia) and Lee McGuigan (PhD student University of Pennsylvania).

Sandra Ristovska wins the 2013 Herbert I. Schiller Award

Sandra Ristovska, a doctoral student at the Annenberg School for Communication of the University of Pennsylvania, has been awarded IAMCR's 2013 Herbert I. Schiller Award for her paper Strategic Witnessing in an Age of Video Activism.

Ristovska's paper examines the changing role of witnessing in light of the proliferating practice of institutional video activism. It first traces the concept of witnessing in media scholarship and documentary filmmaking and then presents an institutional analysis of the New York-based nongovernmental organization WITNESS.

2011 Smythe and Schiller Awards Winners Announced

schiller_smytheIAMCR announced the winners of the Schiller and Smythe Awards at its 2011 Annual Conference in Istanbul.

The Herbert I Schiller award is named after a communication scholar whose critical studies of international communication and of the political economy of information substantially opened up intellectual debate within the U.S. academy and beyond, beginning in the late 1960s. Dallas Smythe's critical studies of the political economy of media have been foundational in that branch of study. Both of them were long-time activists withn IAMCR.

2008 Smythe and Schiller Awards winners announced

Smythe Award 2008IAMCR announced the winners of the Smythe and Schiller Awards at its 2008 Congress in Stockholm on 23 July.

Sara Bannerman  received the IAMCR Prize in Memory of Dallas W. Smythe for her contribution "Berne Buster: Canada and the Berne Convention, 1887-1908" and Cho-wen Chu was awarded the IAMCR Prize in Memory of Herbert I. Schiller for the paper "A comparative Review of Media Globalization in China and Taiwan".

Subscribe to Memorial Awards